In case you need to obtain a West Virginia insurance license, you might need some information on licensure. Learn how to get your license reading the steps below.
The state of West Virginia requires insurance applicants to complete the following hours of pre-licensing education:
There are lots of state approved programs in West Virginia, which offer knowledge of insurance products and services, including laws and rules regulating the insurance industry.
During the courses, you will also obtain a good understanding of finances, maths, business ethics and norms.
The classes are available to take both online and in classroom. The former is suitable for those, who have busy schedules and other jobs.
Once you finish the courses, you will take a monitored final course exam and get a Certificate of completion. This official paper is necessary for license application, as well as for taking the licensing exam. It is only valid for four months after graduation.
As one may guess, the following step is to take and pass the West Virginia insurance license exam. It is to ensure that you possess knowledge of basic insurance products and markets.
For licensure, you will need to take one exam for each combined line of insurance you want to have. Reserve your examination spot here and pay $88 for each attempt and combined line.
Registering for the exam by phone is also acceptable: call at 800-274-2614.
The licensing exam is proctored and covers both general knowledge and state specific sections.
For the exam, you should have acceptable forms of current identification (primary ID and secondary ID), which bear your legal name, signature and photo.
Giving your fingerprints is another main requirement, as it will automatically initiate the background check procedure and give necessary information about you.
You should complete fingerprinting through IdentoGo.
After you complete the requirement, the body will send the results directly to the West Virginia Department of Insurance.
Keep in mind that the results are only valid for thirty days and if you fail to complete licensure within this time, you will have to repeat fingerprinting again.
Submitting the license application is the last step of the procession. You can easily apply following this link.
If you wonder how much you will have to spend on the West Virginia insurance license, here are the fixed fees.
In case you wish to add another line in the future, you will only need to pay $5 for the online service.
If you have any misdemeanors/felonies or criminal history, this fact can have an influence on the outcome of your licensing efforts.
A Property and Casualty insurance license might be the most beneficial to obtain, as it delivers greater job opportunities and advantages.